Solutions Finder
Site Search
Greenlist™
 
Contact Us
 

Doing your part

Doing your part

For more than 121 years, SC Johnson has demonstrated our commitment to doing what's right. We're going to keep doing what's right and we hope you will as well.

Learn more about Doing your part

Greenlist™

When you reach for a household product, you want to know that it's as responsible as possible for your family and the environment.
So do we. That's why SC Johnson developed the Greenlist™ process — to help our scientists make choices that protect the planet and its people while maintaining the high performance of our products.

The Greenlist™ process provides ratings for more than 95 percent of the raw materials we use, including solvents, propellants, insecticides, packaging and more. Read more on the Greenlist™ process in our Greenlist™ Fact Sheet. Through the Greenlist™ process, each raw material receives a rating from 3 to 0, which helps us go beyond regulatory requirements to continually make our products better. An ingredient with a 3 rating is considered “Best,” 2 is “Better,” 1 is “Acceptable” and 0-rated materials are used only on a limited, approved basis when there is not a viable alternative.

While some raw materials with a 0 score are not restricted by government regulatory requirements, over the years SC Johnson has decided to limit their use. Instead, we have chosen to work toward replacing these 0-rated materials with those that are more biodegradable and have a better environmental or health profile.

As we develop a new product or make improvements to an existing one, we evaluate the ratings of each raw material and aim for the best possible choices.

We've set strict objectives for the continuing improvement of the company's overall Greenlist™ score, too — in fact, doing so is one of our top corporate objectives. As a result, SC Johnson has phased out certain raw materials and continues to use more materials that are even better. In fact, the Greenlist™ process has helped SC Johnson achieve a 400 percent increase in the percentage of our raw materials that are “Best” rated.

So next time you reach for Windex® glass cleaner, Pledge® furniture polish, or any SC Johnson product, you'll know you're getting not only the performance you trust and expect, but also making an environmentally responsible choice.

We've studied it

Since developing the Greenlist™ process back in 2001, we have increased the amount and type of raw materials we track, to nearly 970 million kilograms. The Greenlist™ process provides ratings for more than 95 percent of the raw materials in our products, from Scrubbing Bubbles® cleaners, to Glade® fragrances, to Ziploc® Brand bags and containers. Among the ingredient categories we've rated are:

  • chelants (bonding agents)
  • colorants
  • dyes
  • fragrances
  • inorganic acids and bases
  • insecticides
  • non-woven fabrics
  • packaging
  • propellants
  • preservatives
  • resins
  • solvents
  • surfactants (substances that increase solubility)
  • thickeners
  • waxes

Company scientists are working on additional categories as well. Each category of raw materials is judged based on four to seven key criteria such as biodegradability and toxicity. The Greenlist™ process scores also take into account whether suppliers demonstrate high environmental performance, such as receiving ISO 14001 certification.

Sélecteur de solutions
Recherche dans le site :
Liste verteMC
 
Contactez-nous
 

Faire sa part

Faire sa part

Depuis plus de 121 ans, SC Johnson démontre son engagement à bien faire. Nous allons continuer à bien faire et espérons que vous agirez de même.

Plus d’infos

Liste verteMC

Lorsque vous choisissez un produit d’entretien ménager, vous voulez être certain qu’il est aussi inoffensif que possible pour votre famille et pour l’environnement.

Nous aussi. C’est pourquoi SC Johnson a élaboré le processus Liste verteMC — afin d’aider nos scientifiques à faire des choix qui protègent la planète et ses habitants tout en maintenant le rendement élevé de nos produits.

Le processus Liste verteMC fournit une cote à plus de 95 pour cent des matières premières que nous utilisons, notamment des solvants, des propulseurs, des insecticides et des emballages. Pour en savoir plus sur le processus Liste verteMC, lisez notre Fiche de renseignements – Liste verteMC. Dans le cadre du processus Liste verteMC, chaque matière première obtient une cote de 3 à 0, qui nous aide à dépasser les exigences réglementaires afin de continuellement améliorer nos produits. Un ingrédient qui obtient la cote 3 est considéré comme « Meilleur », 2 équivaut à « Mieux », 1 est « Acceptable » et les matières cotées « 0 » ne sont utilisées qu’en dernier ressort, lorsqu’il n’existe aucune solution de rechange viable.

Bien que certaines matières premières cotées « 0 » ne fassent pas l’objet d’une réglementation gouvernementale, SC Johnson a décidé au fil des ans de limiter leur utilisation, choisissant plutôt d’essayer de les remplacer par des matières plus biodégradables ayant un meilleur profil environnemental ou sanitaire.

Lorsque nous concevons un nouveau produit ou apportons des améliorations à un produit existant, nous évaluons les cotes de chaque matière première et nous nous efforçons de faire les meilleurs choix possibles.

Nous avons également établi des objectifs rigoureux pour l’amélioration continue de la cote globale Liste verteMC de l’entreprise — c’est d’ailleurs l’un de nos principaux objectifs globaux. Par conséquent, SC Johnson a éliminé progressivement certaines matières premières et continue à en utiliser d’autres qui sont encore meilleures. Le processus Liste verteMC a aidé SC Johnson à augmenter de 400 pour cent le pourcentage de matières premières ayant obtenu la cote « meilleur ».

Alors, la prochaine fois que vous choisirez un nettoyant à vitres Windex®, un poli à meubles Pledge® ou n’importe quel autre produit SC Johnson, vous aurez l’assurance d’obtenir non seulement le rendement fiable auquel vous vous attendez, mais aussi de faire un choix respectueux de l’environnement.

Nous avons fait nos devoirs

Depuis l’élaboration du processus Liste verteMC en 2001, nous avons augmenté à près de 970 millions de kilogrammes le nombre et le type de matières premières dont nous faisons le suivi.

Le processus Liste verteMC fournit une cote à plus de 95 pour cent des matières premières qui composent nos produits, des nettoyants Scrubbing Bubbles® aux parfums Glade® en passant par les sacs et les contenants de marque Ziploc®. Parmi les catégories d’ingrédients que nous avons évalués, on retrouve :

  • agents chélatants (liants)
  • colorants
  • teintures
  • parfums
  • acides et bases inorganiques
  • insecticides
  • tissus non tissés
  • emballage
  • propulseurs
  • agents de conservation
  • résines
  • solvants
  • surfactants (substances qui augmentent la solubilité)
  • épaississants
  • cires

Les scientifiques employés par l’entreprise travaillent aussi sur d’autres catégories. Chaque catégorie de matières premières est jugée en fonction de quatre à sept critères clés, dont la biodégradabilité et la toxicité. Les cotes attribuées dans le cadre du processus Liste verteMC tiennent également compte du niveau de performance environnementale des fournisseurs, notamment l’obtention de la certification ISO 14001.